BOOK REVIEW||Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief||TheNerdCorner

If you haven’t read Percy Jackson yet, I don’t understand you.

I first read Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief when I was ten years old. I remember my sister passing me her miniature phone, slightly nudging me to read the words written on the screen.

I also remember not being able to comprehend anything

Honestly, I wasn’t surprised.

Not even a slightest

As I shamelessly kept on reading the book from the beginning every year, I began to understand the twisted minds of the characters, the sardonic Mr.D, the typical middle grade jokes and the story narrated by our infamous protagonist, Percy Jackson. And every time, I was astonished by the ending (partly because I was plainly fascinated and partly because I’m such a dramatic wreck)

Percy Jackson is just like any ordinary kid. He plays the basketball, does skateboarding, have friends and possesses the mutual aversion for school.

Yeah, extremely normal.

However, his past isn’t a common one like us mortals.

Of course his mom, Sally Jackson is a mortal but it isn’t the same for his dad.

Percy soon finds himself in the midst of strangers in Camp Half Blood in Long Island, NY.

He later finds out that his father is the Greek Sea God and he is a demigod (naah, this ain’t a spoiler)

Zues is a mad God. Moreover, he loves to blame people for no reason whatsoever. And when his lightening bolt vanishes from his room, he instantly blames Percy

Zues in the corner be like: Aha Perseus Jackson! I got you!

(For those of you who utterly lack the knowledge of Greek Mythology, Zeus and Poseidon hate each other even if they’re brothers)

Percy gets blamed for stealing the lightening bolt faster than a five year old kid getting attracted by a chocolate bar in a candy store.

Percy sets off to a quest to save his mother and also to clear his name with his friends Annabeth and Grover.

In his quest, he goes to west and meets Snake head Medusa and other creepy demons.

The good things about this book?

1.It has an amazing starting

“Look, I didn’t want to be a half blood.
If you’re reading this because you think you might be one, my advice is: close this book right now. Believe whatever lie your mom or dad told you about your birth and try to lead a normal life. Being a half blood is dangerous. It’s scary. Most of the time, it gets you killed in painful, nasty ways. If you’re a normal kid, reading this because its fiction. Great. Read on. I envy you for being able to believe that none of this ever happened.
But if you recognize yourself in these pages—if you feel something stirring inside—stop reading immediately. You might be one of us and once you know that, it’ll only be a matter of time before they sense it too and they’ll come for you. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.”

And I didn’t open the book and wrote the lines. I have it memorised (*gives a slow clap to herself for ardent dedication )

You wouldn’t want to refuse a book with an opening like that.

Trust me, you wouldn’t.

2. Uncle Rick made flawed characters.

The characters are not good at everything, they try their best but they’re not always such perfectionists. They are not always glorified, neither they have exaggerating stories about themselves. That makes them real

3. Every character is given a bold voice and a strong background. The story doesn’t evolve just around Percy; it also untangles the mysteries of the other characters. As you continue to read the other books in the pantology, you’ll understand each character more better.

4. It is relatable and hilarious

Once you understand this book (which I assume you will because not everyone is dumb as I am) you’ll laugh at everything. Even when the characters are being dead serious. You’ll just laugh. That’s the power of Rick Riordan, he always manages to be hilarious and sarcastic.

There are maybe a thousand more reasons why people adore the Percy Jackson Series but the simple answer is this: I love Percy Jackson Series because I just do.

Every character is beautiful in their own way. They are flawed. They make mistakes. They heal. And that is the reason why it is so real and relatable.

It always highlights the real instances of life. Percy has ADHD and dyslexia, so you can already picture his situation in school.

We all know how tough school can be.

There’s competition for everything. Most of the time, kids bully each other to get their own way and if you’re blessed with unfortunate luck, you’ll get victimized for little things.

Everything is beautiful in this book.

At least for me.

It is the book that transported me to the fictional world and now I can’t help being different and more like the characters.

And if you still don’t bat an eye to the absolutely gorgeous edition, I’ll consider you more nuts than Zues

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW||Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief||TheNerdCorner

Leave a comment